Coaching – A View From the Sidelines


Coaching Materials
February 23, 2009, 12:06 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have had a lot of people ask me over my nine years of coaching, where I got my ideas and such.  I look in all areas for ways to better myself. I use the internet, books, cassette tapes, DVD’s, and VHS tapes.  But most importantly I use my peers.  Present coaches and past coaches can be the most important coaching materials you can have. 

I make sure to surround myself with coaches that are knowlegeable in different aspects of the game.  I am always learning, and always tinkering with what I do.  I may take a piece from this person and that person, and turn it into a whole new concept. 

I have a library of different materials that I use.  My father-in-law has been a person that I have bounced a lot of Ideas off of throughout the last nine years.  His ideas and opinions have helped shape what I do. 

To make this short and sweet…Please post your best websites, books, DVD’s, etc….I want this to be a place where people can come to find the answers to a lot of their questions.  I will sit and post my materials tonight once I am home looking at them.

Please Post Away!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I wold not know where to start for my favorite resource. Ron Polk makes great stuff for Baseball/Softball. I also use my peers for most of my learning. College coaches love to share and teach. Plus, most of them know much more than I do. I attend camps all summer long and get to know the coaches in my area. Networking in the coaching profession is the single most important part of my coaching success.

Comment by Chad Brannon

Hey David, not to toot my own horn or anything, but I’ve created OnePlaybook, it’s online playbook software that gives you your own secure website to share videos, announcements, diagrams, etc… with your team all in one place. I’d love to here what you think!

Comment by Brian Manning

Oops! I mean I’d love to hear what you think! So much for proofreading…

Comment by Brian Manning




Leave a Reply

