Coaching – A View From the Sidelines


Giving Thanks
February 24, 2009, 9:17 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Well a new sports season is upon us, and athletes, both new and old, are back into the swing of things.  It is always fun to see the joy in the eyes of the athletes who made the teams that they were trying out for.  It is also very sad to see the heart break and dispair in the eyes of those who do not make it. 

This year I have heard something, that in nine years, I haven’t heard very much.  THANK YOU.  I was floored.  I have been preaching about how what we are doing in our weight lifting classes would help them in any sport that they were involved in.  My classes this semester are full of athletes.  Most are playing something this spring, but also a large amount of Football and Volleyball players.  I am hoping they see what is happening for the spring athletes, and follow suit.  I preach how core exercises and leg excercises will help you in any sport, and they are finally seeing the fruits of their labor. 

Some of the kids were telling my how much easier Track was this year, and a couple of the baseball guys have gained velocity on their pitching and increased their bat speed.  The last two days have been filled with “thank you’s” from the athletes in my class.  They are able to give a higher level of effort for longer in track, and they recover quicker in baseball. 

I am proud of them.  They are finally seeing what I have been telling them since I arrived.  Their power base is set, and now we are on to working on their speed.  Tuesdays and Thursdays have been known as “hell days” in my class.  Those are the days that the weak of heart do not dress out, and it shows later in the semester in their M/W/F workouts.  They are unable to continue the gains they were making early in the semester.  While the ones that bust their butts make amazing gains all the way until the last day of the semester.  I make it hard because I know that what they do outside in the afternoon will then be “easy.”  It is nice to know that I have the blessings of the spring coaches.  They are such huge advocates of what I am doing.

It makes me proud as a teacher to see what I am doing is making a difference in their lives.  Not only are they enjoying success in their sport, but they are going to be able to live a better life with the level of fitness they are gaining.

I love my job!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

