Coaching – A View From the Sidelines


Athlete Meeting
March 6, 2009, 11:08 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

What an outstanding Job Harold Robinson did talking to our athletes about what they should be doing now to get ready for their future in both school and athletics.  He shot straight with them.  He didn’t mince words.  Exactly what they needed to hear.  THE SAME THINGS WE AT THE SCHOOL SAY EVERYDAY!  I guess the old philosophy is true, it takes someone outside of the situation to get the point across?

Each student was given a packet on their way out of the meeting that the title of is, “IS MY SON/DAUGHTER A LEGITIMATE RECRUIT?”  It is a great piece of literature for anyone that is going through the recruiting policy, or someone that may be going through it soon.  It details MONTH by MONTH what needs to be done from the day those kids get on a high school campus.  As a coach I am glad that I was able to hear him talk.  It makes me feel like I have been teaching and telling my athletes the correct things. 

It is also full of the academic information that each student needs to have before they get to college.  Test Scores, GPA, and so on, and so on… They were shocked that the coaching staff knew what we were talking about.  Will they listen and follow through on promises?  Only time will tell.

I will be better for my athletes, and my sons in the future for sitting through this meeting.  I video taped it, and I hope that came out well.  Will check it out later on today when I get a chance. 

My principal, athletic director, and fellow coaches were very supportive of this meeting.  They came up to me afterwards and said again, what a good idea it was. 

After this meeting we decided, and it was Coach Robinsons’ idea, to have him and the ECU Staff to come and be a part of our Fall Parent Meeting.  We didn’t even have to think twice about that one.  The parents will them walk out of this meeting with enough information to know what it is going to take for them to go to ANY college, not just a D-I school. 

I think the girls were as shocked as any to hear about the comittment to the weight room.  They didn’t understand what they needed to be doing while still in high school.  Now they know.  Comittment to a sport has to change now at our school if we are going to continue to make gains in our athletic programs.

The final question is…What will the student-athletes do?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

